Walkin’ On The Sun (3:22 E.R.T.)

Have I publicly said I love Elon Musk?  No?  Well I do, and here’s the latest from Mr. Tesla, solar shingles.  Maybe that’s not what he’ll call them, but I can see the ads already.  Want solar but hate that extra attachment on your roof?  Your roof is not weight rated for solar panels?  You want to help save the world, but don’t know how, get a solar roof!  Of course does he need ads?  I hope these catch on like wildfire.  And then could we have a Tesla truck, please?

I like the positivity of this essay.  The author took an article which, yes, presumably helped teachers smile on a bad day, and turned it into something which could help them and the students.  I think, as she points out, that each class and each semester would come up with a different list.  And this could be a very healthy and useful beginning of semester activity.

I remember several years ago speaking with fellow grad students about a qualitative inquiry class at UIUC by Norm Denzin.  Several students loved the class because he helped them dig deep and come to some greater understandings of issues, it helped one of my friends write an excellent paper on race.  Others were more skeptical and dropped the class because he proposed that presentation could be done through interpretive dance.  I never got to take the class, mainly due to timing.  And in retrospect I don’t think too many people took Denzin AND Stake (which I took), it was usually one or the other, both are giants in the field of qualitative inquiry.  But I came across this 2 minute video today.  It is an audio track of Stephen Fry explaining how he hates dancing, choreographed by a dancer.  And I think it is amazing, how dance can get across what Fry is saying.  And while I’m sure some are like those fellow grad students who thought interpretive dance was too far out there, I think something like this could allow for some classes, and some instructors (not just in dance) to allow for presentations.

Finally, this is not an article per se.  These are the standards for the International Society for Technology in Education.  I wanted to post these as a base line.  I read a lot of articles each day, and half perhaps are about what is happening in k-12.  And sometimes I do post those articles about junior and senior year math or English, as sometimes there can be overlap for higher ed.  But I also read a lot of interesting stories about third graders or fifth graders which I don’t post.  Articles where they are making videos, making websites, or learning coding.  The reason I don’t post these is because I think most people in higher ed won’t see the the relationship between a third grader making a video and a college freshman studying Shakespeare, and so I focus on articles which are probably more relevant.  But I wanted to share the site and the standards to help give a point of view.  ISTE proposes standards, and indicators, and projects which should be included in the k-12 programs.  When I was working on teacher ed redesign at UIUC we were using these as a baseline for training teachers.  And the articles which I read about elementary students indicates that a lot of these standards are being applied across the country.  And then these students come to college.  We should be prepared for students who are making videos in third grade, learning coding in fifth grade, and developing video games in eleventh grade.  When students have learned in one way, and then encounter a more “traditional” method in college, can we really say we are preparing them for life?  Or are we just teaching them the way we were taught?

 

Leave a Reply

